Chronology of Shakespeare’s Plays and Poems

Introducing Shakespeare: A Graphic Guide - Nick Groom, Piero 2013

Chronology of Shakespeare’s Plays and Poems

Titles and suggested dates are based on Wells and Taylor’s Oxford Shakespeare.

Hamlet [the “Ur-Hamlef”, lost work] (late 1580s/early 1590s)

The Two Gentlemen of Verona (late 1580s/early 1590s)

The Taming of the Shrew (late 1580s/early 1590s)

The First Part of the Contention of the Two Famous Houses of York and Lancaster [Henry VI, Part 2] (early 1590s)

The True Tragedy of Richard Duke of York and the Good King Henry the Sixth [Henry VI, Part 3] (before 1592)

The First Part of Henry the Sixth [Henry VI, Part 1] (c. 1592)

The Tragedy of King Richard the Third (c. 1592-3)

Venus and Adonis (1592-3)

The Most Lamentable Roman Tragedy of Titus Andronicus (c. 1593)

The Rape of Lucrece (c. 1593)

The Comedy of Errors (c. 1594)

Love’s Labour’s Lost (c. 1594)

Love’s Labour’s Won [lost work] (before 1598)

Sir Thomas More [partly attributed to Shakespeare] (c. 1594-5)

The Most Excellent and Lamentable Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet (c. 1594-5)

A Midsummer Night’s Dream (c. 1594-5)

The Tragedy of King Richard the Second (c. 1595)

The Life and Death of King John (c. 1595-6)

The Comical History of the Merchant of Venice, or Otherwise Called the Jew of Venice (c. 1596-7)

The History of Henry the Fourth [Henry IV, Part 1] (c. 1596-7)

The Merry Wives of Windsor (1597)

The Second Part of Henry the Fourth (c. 1597-8)

Much Ado About Nothing (c. 1598-9)

The Life of Henry the Fifth (1599)

The Tragedy of Julius Caesar (1599)

As You Like It (c. 1599-1600)

The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark (c. 1600-1)

“The Phoenix and the Turtle" (1601)

Twelfth Night, or What You Will (c. 1601-2)

Troilus and Cressida (c. 1601-2)

The Sonnets and “A Lover’s Complaint” (pub. 1599-1609)

All’s Well That Ends Well (1602-3)

Measure for Measure (c. 1604)

The Tragedy of Othello, the Moor of Venice (c. 1603-4)

The Life of Timon of Athens (? 1604)

The History of King Lear (c. 1605)

The Tragedy of Macbeth (c. 1606)

The Tragedy of Antony and Cleopatra (c. 1606)

Pericles, Prince of Tyre (c. 1607-8)

The Tragedy of Coriolanus (c. 1607-8)

The Winter’s Tale (c. 1609-10)

The Tragedy of King Lear (c. 1609-10)

Cymbeline, King of Britain (c. 1610-11)

The Tempest (1611)

Cardenio [lost work] (c. 1612-13)

All Is True [Henry VIII] (c. 1612-13)

The Two Noble Kinsmen (c. 1612-13)